Doyle Poll

With no fanfare, this year marked the 50th year of the Doyle Poll. Senator Bill Doyle of Washington County initiated the poll in 1969, his first year in state legislature. That year, with the legislature considering instituting a statewide sales tax in lieu of raising the VT income tax, Senator Doyle conducted a survey to gauge the opinion of his district. That winter he sent a letter to every 20th person on the voter checklist in Washington County asking for feedback on that question. From that first survey, Senator Doyle was surprised to learn of voters' support for the sales tax. And the poll expanded in scope and scale from there. Senator Doyle served in the State House through 2016


Best ways to reach Tim:

Cell: (802) 384-8256

Home: (802) 785-2414

Best ways to reach Jim:

Home: (802) 785-4146



Jim Masland and Tim Briglin were elected to represent the Windsor-Orange 2 district towns of Norwich, Sharon, Strafford, and Thetford in the Vermont House of Representatives.  Their current two-year term is for 2019-2020.


Jim Masland is serving his eleventh term in the Statehouse and is a member of the Ways & Means Committee.


Tim Briglin is serving his third term in the Statehouse and is the Chair of the Energy & Technology Committee.


You can find Jim and Tim's seats in the General Assembly by clicking here.  Their seat numbers are #82 and #93, respectively.


The Vermont State Legislature's website has a tremendous amount of information.  On the site, you will find information about all state representatives and state senators, bills and resolutions that have been introduced, hearing schedules and reports for House and Senate Committees, information about visiting the Statehouse, links to Vermont Statutes and Vermont's Constitution, and links to other branches of state government.